My Wildflower Top

I finished up the last of the four Just Add Jeans tops from Pattern Anthology.  This one is the Wildflower Top from Melly Sews.

I think this pattern was the trickiest of the four, though I think a beginner could still tackle it.  It’s only tricky because it offers quite a few variations based on your bust size and depending on what you pick you may have to alter the pattern.

It’s more intimidating than difficult.

When I saw this pattern I knew that I wanted to make it into a dress.  I just extended the bodice pieces until I had the length that I wanted.

I was certain that I wanted this to be a full-length, floor sweeping dress, but when I tried it on before hemming it… well, it looked like a nightie.  I chopped it off just below the knee and now it’s perfect.

I love sewing for myself!  I can make clothes that actually fit my body.  I can also find patterns and materials that are on trend without feeling like I am dressing the same as everyone else.  I like a little originality.  🙂

Sewing for kids is fun and takes less material, but then I always run the risk that they’ll hate the finished project and never wear it.

Leave a Reply

