Watercolor Tote

I make a lot of purses and bags.  It’s nice to be able to make something new when I’m wanting a change.  I’ve had this idea for a bag rolling around in my head and although it didn’t turn out exactly like I’d imagined, it is still a good start.

I started with a heavy white cotton canvas and then I used fabric die and a paintbrush to create a watercolor effect.  I used three different colors, blue, black and grey.  I rinsed the fabric and let it dry after each color before adding the next one.

I wanted it to look purposeful as opposed to something that got stained in the wash, so I used a pretty printed fabric for the lining and faux leather for the bottom and straps.

I’d love to work with real leather some day, and rivets and buckles.  Someday.

One thought on “Watercolor Tote

Leave a Reply

