A New Purse

My friend Sylvia came to church with a beautiful purse she had made.

It totally gave me the itch to make a new purse.  So I did.

I thought a lot about the size and style I wanted and came up with this.

The material is a soft green and cream striped linen-type fabric.  I used fusible fleece to give it some substance.

I machine-appliqued a doily on the front for fun.

The back has a long slip pocket for quickly stashing keys, grocery lists and receipts.

This time I used fusible Steam-A-Seam stuff to adhere the doily.

The inside has a stiff insert in the bottom, two slip pockets and small zippered pocket.

Really it looks like this though.

Of course, then I had to make a bunch to go inside of it, including a diaper clutch, coin purse, sunglasses holder and checkbook cover.  (The embroidered pouch isn’t pictured.)

The diaper clutch is my favorite.  It’s made from a vintage pillowcase and I used the fusible stuff to attach another doily.

Now that I’ve figured out measurements and techniques, I kind of want to give it another go with coordinating fabrics.  I think it would be fun to have a purse and accessories that all looked good together.

5 thoughts on “A New Purse

    • I would LOVE to make you a purse. Seriously. I’m wanting an excuse to work on my design some more. You don’t need to pay me. I often use scraps and repurposed materials so it doesn’t really cost me anything. Let me know what kinds of colors/style you like and I’ll keep my eye out for materials. 🙂

  1. Oh Casey, Sweetie, Love, ahem! My Birthday is coming and I need something to carry my big print scriptures, clip board, etc. to church. I would absolutely love a simple bag, in a natural or pastel color for summer. I only need like one pocket inside but I would greatly appreciate it being feminine on the outside! Consider this a birthday request from your old Mom.

Leave a Reply

