Circle Skirts for Days

My picture taking has reached new lows.  I didn’t even wait for my hair to dry before snapping my reflection in the dirty mirror in my messy room.  Tis life.  🙂

Oh but the skirt.  A circle skirt!  Why has it taken me so long to give one a try?  Mostly because it takes more material than a simple a-line skirt and my budget for material is tiny.  Now that I’ve tried it though, I don’t know if I can go back.  Circle skirts are so flattering because they flare out slightly and so fun to wear with their swishing and swaying.  Made out of a comfy knit, it’s like being able to wear pajamas out in public.  I felt so fancy and comfortable at church on Sunday.

My skirt was actually the second circle skirt I made last week.  I made one for my daughter first.  I tried snapping a picture before she headed off to school, but there was about zero light so it’s super grainy.  My daughter gets all the credit for thinking up the whole circle skirt idea.  She had bought two skirts while out shopping with a friend and had paid $20 for them, but desperately wanted more.  I used her store bought skirt as a pattern by just folding it into fourths and then cutting it a little longer (I’m her mom after all…)  I made the waist opening about a fourth of her waist measurement and then attached a yoga style waist band.  The whole thing was done in about 15 minutes.  She is already requesting more.  Her t-shirt is out of the same material I used for my recent shirt, but it is a self-drafted pattern that I’ve been working on.  I’ve now made 8 shirts using this pattern.  It’s a cropped tee with raw edges and a wide neck opening.  She loves them.

I used her store-bought skirt as the template for my skirt as well, only I cut it a lot longer and then made the waist opening larger too.  I’m sure I’ll be making more of these skirts soon.

Leave a Reply

