Casual Lady and Pencil Skirt

Sometimes I get to the weekend and develop an overwhelming urge to make something new to wear to church on Sunday.  That is exactly what happened to me on Saturday morning, and luckily I had some fantastic knits from Girl Charlee on hand.  I used a black and white polka dot knit to try out the Casual Lady pattern by Go To Patterns.  I did the shirt option (obviously) and the fit was true to size.  The neck is finished with facing instead of a band which makes it look a little fancier I think.  The finishing is simple, but that makes it quick to sew up.  I’d like to give the dress option a shot sometime.

The tribal print is a Ponte (also from girl Charlee) and I knew as soon as I saw it that it needed to be a fitted pencil skirt.  Luckily I was able to find a great tutorial from Simple Simon and Co. that was fantastic.  I used their instructions for making a sloper and the fit was so fantastic.  I love, love, love this skirt and will definitely be making more.

 

Leave a Reply

