Little Moccs

I’ve been sewing up little pairs of baby shoes using the Lil’ Papoose Moccasin pattern by Peek-a-Boo Patterns.  It’s a darling pattern and it comes together so quickly and I’ve had lucky using it with a variety of materials.  These gold moccs were made with animal-friendly leather (read faux leather) and they turned out great.

The silver faux-leather I wanted was on back-order and I couldn’t wait any longer so I sewed up this pair using an old purse of mine.  The vinly is super soft and has a great feel.

This little red pair is made from an upcycled leather jacket in a beautiful ruby red.  It was my first time working with real leather and it was a little finicky.  I had to play with needle size, thread weight and stitch tension to find the right combination.  Definitely not as easy as working with the vinyl.  The leather was also a little on the thin side so I’m not sure how it will hold up.

I just purchased another piece of real leather, this time in a thicker weight and I’m eager to give it another goal.  I’d also love to give this pattern a little bit more of my own spin so that it’s not just a copy of someone else’s design.

2 thoughts on “Little Moccs

    • I have upcycled a few leather jackets and purses that I’ve thrifted, but my best leather has come from Etsy. There are several shops that let you guy smaller pieces so it’s a little more affordable and the color options are great. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

