Going Tribal

I don’t know what’s gotten into me lately, but I’ve been sewing up a storm.  Not everything has been a Christmas gift either.  Take this dress for instance.

I bought this delicious tribal print knit from Girl Charlee.  It’s silky and soft and definitely on the lighter side of things.  I knew right away I wanted to make a dress, but I had trouble deciding on the silhouette.  I almost drafted my own pattern, but at the last minute I decided to give The Staple Dress another go.

This go around I made the size XS and then took out a good two inches at the bust and waist and then tapered it down the sides to keep the existing high/low hem.  I also took some out of the underside of the sleeve to give it a more fitted look.  I left off the shirring entirely, instead opting to use a belt.

I love this version so much better.  It is more complementary of my body and I feel better wearing it.  I know some people like loose flowy dresses, but I always feel like I’m wearing a tent.  This dress is fitted enough to feel feminine without being so tight as to feel juvenile.

I love it!

With the leftover material I made a pair of leggings.  I love them, but I almost couldn’t bring myself to wear them out of the house.  I did though and I like them as long as I have my bum covered.  I’m too old to have my fanny hanging out in spandex for all the world to see.

I did have a little bit of fabric left after the leggings so I made a quick skirt for my daughter.  I’ll have to wait until she gets home to hem it and then maybe I can talk her into letting me take a picture of her wearing it.  🙂

Leave a Reply

