Gluten-Free Dairy-Free Cookie Pizza

Our Best Bites posted a delicious looking fruit pizza recipe a few days ago.

I knew I had to try it as soon as I saw it.  It’s just the kind of thing my kids would love.

But I needed it to be gluten-free.  And dairy-free.  But not taste-free.

And it worked.

For the crust I used the sugar cookie recipe from Gluten-Free Girl and subbed out items so i could use what I had on hand which ended up being:

1/2 c sorghum flour

1/2 c rice flour

1 c tapioca flour

1/2 c finely flaked coconut

1 tsp guar gum

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 c lighter bake (a butter substitute made up of applesauce and prunes)

1/2 cup sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

pinch of nutmeg

I only chilled it for 30 minutes (no time!) and then rolled it flat using a sheet of plastic wrap to keep the roller from sticking.  I baked it for 10 minutes at 375 and it worked great.

To make the fluffy yummy icing I had to make more subs for the dairy.

8oz tofutti (tofu cream cheese substitute)

1/4 c brown sugar

1.5 c Cool Whip

It was heaven I tell you.  Heaven!  It didn’t taste like whipped tofu at all.

(Which is a good thing in my book.)

I followed the rest of recipe and did the blueberries and strawberries and chocolate.

Oh yum.

2 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Dairy-Free Cookie Pizza

  1. Tofutti rocks. I love it! But then, I’m weird like that. I may be calling you for some glutten free advice . . . I’ve had a crazy eczema flare up that is driving me insane.

Leave a Reply

