New Spring Purse

Ta da!  My new Spring purse is finished.

I have two pleated slip pockets on the front for my phone and keys.

The back boasts a long zippered pocket.

Perfect for my notebook and pens.

The inside has two large slip pockets for storing all my stuff.

And a little zippered slip pocket for Tylenol and girly necessities.

There is also a long, padded pocket for my iPad.

The bowler style makes it very roomy.

Which is great because I’m still toting around diapers and wipes and stuff.

I’m really pleased with how it turned out.

It was a long process because I had to make it all up as I went along.  I couldn’t find any pattern or tutorials that fit what I was looking for.  If I were to do it again (which I probably will) then I’d do a few things differently.  I would probably play with the shape a bit, going a bit more rounded and I’d definitely abandon the contrasting stitching because it shows any mistake all too clearly.  I’d also tack the lining down differently so that it fit more snug.  The piping was a new trick for me and I made my own.  Next time I’m going to use a smaller cording and cut the strips a bit thinner.

There is lots I do love about this bag.  I love the rounded handles (cording) and the bright fabric.  I love that I have pockets where I want them and in the sizes I want them.  I love the big zipper that allows me to really see what’s in my bag.  I love the size and the length of the handles.  I love that it matches my new iPad.  I love that the fusible fleece I used for interfacing gives my bag a nice sturdy, professionally-made feel.  I love that it doesn’t look like a diaper bag but can still function like one.

If I can work out the kinks, I’m tempted to draft my own pattern.  But, we’ll see.  That’s an awful lot of work.

 

2 thoughts on “New Spring Purse

Leave a Reply

