Laundry Detergent

Since I wrote a ridiculously long post about making soap, I figured I should follow up with my laundry detergent recipe.

Laundry Powder

1 bar of homemade soap

1 cup washing soda

1 cup Borax

Grate the soap on a microplane grater/zester.  Pour grated soap into desired lidded container such as a repurposed plastic container or mason jar. Add washing soda and Borax.  Place lid on container and shake to mix.  Easy Peasy.

I use 2 tablespoons of laundry powder for each load of laundry and typically I also add 1 tbsp of Oxyclean.  For brightness, softness and odor removal I pour 1/4 to 1/2 cup of vinegar in the liquid fabric softener dispenser on my machine.  Vinegar is like magic.

Another source of magic is the sun.  Yes, the sun.  I can lay out the most stained cloth diapers you’ve ever seen and the sun will take the stains right away.  More magic I tell you.  I’m thinking my towels need a little time in the sun too.

Leave a Reply

